Summer is a great time to cruise around town in your car. Whether it’s a family road trip to Grandma’s house or a weekend outing to the lake with friends, Alabama residents drive more in summer than any other time of year. In order to keep motorists as safe as possible, it’s important to obey all of the Alabama car safety laws every time you get behind the wheel. Who knows- they might just save your life!
Everybody knows that it’s important to fasten your seatbelt every time you get into a car. Not only does wearing a seatbelt greatly reduce the risk of death or serious injury in a collision, but it is the law in Alabama. If you are in the front seat of a running vehicle, you are subject to a $25 fine from the Alabama Department of Safety. You are not required to wear a seatbelt in the back seat if you’re over the age of 15, but it’s always a good idea.
Your child is just as important to the State of Alabama as she is to you! To ensure that your child is as safe as possible when riding in your car, it’s crucial to follow these car seat guidelines for the State of Alabama:
If your child is up to one year of age or less than 20 pounds, he or she needs to be restrained in a rear-facing car seat.
Between the ages of 1 and 5 or 40 pounds, whichever comes first, your child must be restrained in a front-facing toddler car seat.
If your child is between the ages of 5 and 6, a booster seat must be used to aid your child’s seatbelt.
Cell Phone Usage
Alabama drivers are not allowed to send texts, emails or instant messages at any time while operating a motor vehicle, regardless of age. Drivers who are 16 or 17 years of age and have had their Alabama state driver’s license for less than 6 months are also not allowed to talk on cell phones while driving. However, the use of hands-free devices such as headsets and in-car Bluetooth connections is permissible.